Women Pressured into Aborting Down’s Syndrome Babies

The Daily Telegraph is reporting that some women in the UK are being pressured by doctors into aborting their Down's Syndrome babies.

Lisa Green could hardly wait to give birth to her second child. The images from her eight-month scans were showing a fully formed baby weighing more than 7lb. With the excitement and anticipation familiar to any expectant parent, she and her husband Tim had already chosen a name for their unborn son.

"Then the doctor said, 'I have some bad news – your baby has Down's syndrome'," recalls Mrs Green, 35, a part-time administrator from Margate, in Kent.
 
After a complicated pregnancy, during which the doctors had found that Mrs Green was carrying excess amniotic fluid, the couple had agreed that their baby could be tested for genetic conditions. "We were both in total shock, but this was considerably worsened when he said, 'You can have a termination.' I was 35 weeks' pregnant at this stage. My baby was fully formed and his name was decided. I was appalled.

"He urged us to think about the termination and think about how having a baby with 'mental retardation' would affect our lives. He listed only the potential negatives about Down's syndrome, without giving us any information to read for a more balanced view. The midwife tried to interject and offer us some leaflets, but he talked her down."

Mrs Green decided to go ahead with the pregnancy and, two weeks later, gave birth to Harrison – a little brother for their first child, Sam, who is now five. Harrison Green is now two years old and has just started nursery part-time. He is, according to his mother, a "happy and healthy" child.

But thousands of other unborn children diagnosed with Down's suffer a different fate. According to new research by the Down's Syndrome Association, Mrs Green is not alone in her experience.

Many pregnant women whose babies are diagnosed with the condition by an NHS screening programme are being actively encouraged to have late abortions. Since its launch in 2003, the screening service has been offered to all 760,000 women who fall pregnant in the UK every year, at an estimated cost to the NHS of £15,300 per Down's syndrome pregnancy detected.
. . .
Those fears now appear to have become a disturbing reality. Nuala Scarisbrick, a trustee of Life, the pro-life organisation, said that the offer of late terminations for Down's babies was a case of "overt eugenics". She added: "There are human rights for everybody unless you are disabled in some way, it seems."

In recent years, advances in medical screening and the associated rise in the number of terminations (about 185,000 are performed every year in the UK) have led to a number of critics condemning the rising tide of "abortion on demand".
. . .
Although children with Down's syndrome who also have an untreated heart condition are unlikely to survive into their teens, a child with no other health problems can expect to live up to the age of 60. Many children with the condition can, like Harrison, lead happy and fulfilled lives.

"We don't know what we'd do without him – he's so adored," says Mrs Green. "The frightening thing is that, had we been told by the same doctor about the Down's syndrome earlier in the pregnancy, there is a chance we might have decided to abort. That decision would have been based on incomplete and biased information."

But by the time of diagnosis, the Greens already knew that their feelings about their son were unconditional. In the end, the couple decided to act on biased information of their own: love.

3 responses to “Women Pressured into Aborting Down’s Syndrome Babies

  1. There are no choices for women who have downs syndrome testing

    Hi my name is Marie,

    I myself have been treated really badly, what happened to me goes against all my beliefs and ethics.

    In 2004 I was pregnant and happy about the pregnancy. I was advised by midwives that I should have downs testing. I recall saying that it would not matter if our baby was downs, I myself have worked with downs adults and I already knew how rewarding and loving they can be. I had already been advised during my previous pregnancies that I should have testing for downs syndrome. I was told that should the results show any of my babies to be downs syndrome it would prepare me for the birth of a downs baby. I believed them and therefore had testing for downs syndrome. If I had known what I know today I would not have let any of these people near me.

    On Tuesday 21st September 2004 I was telephoned by the hospital to say that my unborn baby did have downs syndrome, at that point the hospital asked if I could go and see them on the same day. I replied no it would not be possible due to my husband being at work and that I still had three younger children at home with me, Kathleen my youngest child still only being 14 months old. The midwife then proceeded to tell me that I should attend the next morning at 11.3oam with my husband. I said that I had nobody to look after the children, the midwife said don’t worry you can bring them with you. On Wednesday 22 September 2004 my husband, children and myself attended the hospital. I thought that they were going to help me and support me, how wrong I was!

    As soon as we arrived at the hospital the midwife met us and ushed us into a room. A nurse came into the room after us and said I’ll look after the children for, I’ll take them to the playroom. My husband and I were left with the midwife who proceeded to say, that our baby was downs syndrome, she then said it had 64 abnormal cells which is worse than a downs baby, a downs baby has 60 abnormal cells. I have since found this to be totally untrue. She proceeded to say that our baby would probably be born dead and if by any chance it did survive it would need operation after operation, and how can you bring a baby into this world to suffer. I felt sick, unable to take what she was telling me. I told the midwife that I wanted to keep my baby, I recall her shouting who is going to take care of this child when you are gone, the burden would end up on the other children. She went on to say this why you have the tests!! in a domanering voice, no I said I was told it would prepare me for the birth of a downs baby. 99% teminate she repleyed. I have never been so trumatised, bullied and violated in my life.

    After an hour, they brought the children back into the room. The midwife went into the room next door to speak to the consultant, we could hear every word. My husband and I could hear her saying I have told her and told her it is worse than a downs baby. After about half an hour she and the consultant came into the room. He too said that the baby would be really bad and that the results were never wrong, another lie. They bullied me to such an extent that they even said that the hospital would sort out the buriel.

    We were at the hospital from 11.30am to approximately 4.00pm the same day. Not once did I say that I did not want our baby. I even said to my husband what if they are lying, he said Marie, they would not do that to you. But they did!!

    I was so ditraught and upset, they should have sent me home, but they didn’t they pushed me into taking a tablet which stopped my baby’s life. Even at that point I said that I had wanted to keep my baby, the staff said yes but it is worse than a downs.

    On the way home that day my brain could not comprehend what they had done. I was so upset that my husband Allan pulled into a layby. All of your life you are brought up to believe that hospitals and staff are there to help you. If I had not been treated in the way that I was that day I would never have believed.

    They had stopped my little girls life. I had not signed any consent form and I certainly did not give them consent. On Friday 24 September 2004, I then had to back to that awful place and give birth my daughter Lillie, that they killed.

    I have since had another baby boy, and I did not have any tests what so ever, even though yet again I was advised to, I said no. And yes again I was told that it would prepare me for the birth, which is a total lie.

    Once they find out that your baby has downs syndrome, there are no choices!!

    I have since being to see a solicitor, who has been fighting my case. I have also being to see a barrister, who belives that I was bullied and lied to by the hospital. The barrister also believes that this is happenening to lots of other women and has told me that if other women will come forward, then he is prepared to fight this case as a public interest case. The barrister does believe that the public need to be aware of what is happening to these downs babies.

    I have spoken to a downs co-ordinater and she has informed me that not one downs baby has been born in Bradford in 2007. In Bradford they are now testing all pregnant women for downs syndrome babies.

  2. natasha and chelsea

    THIS IS JUST PLAIN WRONG YOU CANT DO THIS TO THEM IF THEY HAVE A DISEASE

  3. Pingback: Petri Dish and Womb Ethics | Whole Reason

Leave a comment